Settings Presets

Overview

Enscape has three settings windows; the General Settings General Settings buttondialog, which contains application wide settings not intended to be changed very often, is accessed from inside the CAD toolbar.

The Renderer Window Settings which contain Customization, Input, Devices, and Sound settings, and Visual Settings are located from within the Enscape viewport User Interface (UI).

The Visual Settings dialog contains those settings to be used when tweaking and refining an image or video before export; settings such as Exposure, Field of View, Depth of Field, Ambient Brightness, and Resolution, for example, can then be saved as a Settings Preset and  linked to a View, or a set of Views. Only the Visual Settings dialog has the ‘Presets‘ menu options that allow the creation and management of your Settings Presets.

There are two ways to manage your settings in Enscape. You can either save them to your computer’s hard drive as a .json file, or you may choose to store them in your CAD software’s project file, the latter being the default operation.

The Enscape Settings Presets are static value dumps and the read / write operations are atomic operations. This means that either the entire Settings Preset is read and it’s values allocated accordingly, or the ‘preset’ is overwritten with any further calibrations you make to the settings being automatically applied and adopted. Therefore, whichever preset is the ‘currently active’ Settings Preset acts as a value repository until the Save to file… option is used, or until a new preset is created.

NOTE!
Previous Settings Presets will be overwritten when upgrading from an Enscape version prior to version 2.6. To avoid losing these older settings, move the old Enscape version’s Settings Presets out from the settings folder (default location for user would be C:\Users\%USERNAME%\Documents\Enscape\Settings). You will then be able to import these settings after 2.6 installation via the Import Legacy Settings option that is contained in the Import settings preset dialog.

Accessing the Settings

To open the Visual Settings and the associated Settings Presets panel, the Enscape viewport must be running.
Once Enscape is open, you will want to click on the button highlighted at the right side of the Enscape UI, as shown in the following screenshot.

Visual Settings button in the Enscape UI

Visual Settings button in the Enscape UI

Once the Visual Settings dialog is open, click on the small chevron to the middle left of the dialog to expand / collapse the Settings Presets panel.

Visual Settings dialog and opening the Settings Preset panel

Visual Settings dialog and opening the Settings Preset panel

Create a Settings Preset

First click either of the Create Preset buttons that are available at the top and bottom of the Presets panel.
Once a new Preset has been created, you can adjust the settings, which will be automatically applied and saved to that Settings Preset.

Create a Settings Preset

Create a Settings Preset

Preset Menu Options

By default, there is always one Settings Preset listed, by default it is named as Custom Preset. This can be renamed, if desired. Right click on any listed preset to reveal a menu containing five options:

  • Rename
  • Duplicate
  • Save as file…
  • Reset to default
  • Delete (which is only available if more than one Settings Preset exists)
Settings Preset Menu options

Settings Preset Menu options

Load Preset Options

Hovering your mouse over symbol highlighted in the screenshot to the right, you can open or import previously saved Settings Presets, including Legacy Settings.

Once you have clicked on the button, the Open dialog will appear, offering three import / open options.

Import / Open Settings Presets button

Import / Open Settings Presets button

Click the drop down menu at the bottom right of the Open dialog where three options are offered:

  • Visual Settings Presets (*.json) – all Settings Presets created after Enscape v2.6.
  • Legacy Settings (*.xml)– Settings Presets created in versions of Enscape prior to v2.6.
  • All Supported Formats (*.json;*.xml)– which will load either of the above.
Load Presets options

Load Presets options

Saving Preset Options

All Settings Presets are saved to the CAD project file itself,  so whenever you open the project the Settings Presets will be instantly available.

If you want to use the Settings Presets in another CAD project, then you can save the Settings Presets out to a file via the Save as file… option. These files are always saved as *.json files and the Save As dialog allows you to choose the location to save to.

Save Settings Presets option

Save Settings Presets option

If you choose to overwrite an existing Settings Preset, then you will be prompted to confirm the overwrite.

Overwrite Preset Warning

Overwrite Preset Warning

Manage Settings

You can RenameDuplicate, or Delete a Settings Presets, as well as Reset to default, via the Presets Menu options.

If you Duplicate a Setting, you will be prompted to rename it, or accept the default name which appends the copied Settings Preset name with the word ‘Copy’.

Rename will also warn you if the name you want to use already exists.

Reset to default will reset the preset back to the factory default settings.

Duplicate a Settings Preset

Duplicate a Settings Preset

Rename a Settings Preset

Rename a Settings Preset

Note for Revit Users
If you get an error message when syncing a project that is stored on a shared drive and where more than one user is working on a specific part of a project, then you may need to manually sync the project to overcome any errors that may be thrown when Revit attempts to auto sync. This can also occur if one user is editing a project and the other user is opening the project only as a read action (to open a View in the associated project, for instance). Currently it is not possible for Enscape to determine when or how Revit is currently syncing projects that contain embedded data, such as the Enscape Visual Settings Presets, which are embedded in to the Revit project file. Where a BIM360 project is being used, it will help to “make sure” that you, as the user, have the latest version of the BIM360-shared project available locally by pressing the “Sync with Central” button before attempting to change any of the following things in Enscape: Visual Presets, Collaboration or Views.

Import Legacy Settings

It is possible to import Legacy Settings Presets from versions of Enscape prior to version 2.6. As already mentioned above, this is done by clicking the Import button located within the Presets panel.

Once imported, you should consider saving these settings out to a *.json file if you would like to use them in other projects.

Otherwise, the settings will be saved to the CAD project.

Legacy Settings imported as a Visual Settings Preset

Legacy Settings imported as a Visual Settings Preset


    Was this article helpful ?

    YesNo

    Please provide us short feedback: (required)

    If you require a response to your feedback, then you will need to leave your email address (optional)*:

    *In the framework of our postings on our website, we may ask you for your feedback on the respective posting. Here, only the input of your feedback is required. The provision of further data, such as your e-mail address, is optional. If you provide further data, such as your e-mail address, we will use this to ask you questions about the feedback, if necessary, and thus to improve our services even more specifically. The legal basis for data processing is your consent (Art. 6 s. 1 p. 1 lit. a GDPR). The granting of consent is voluntary and is given when providing the optional email address which can be revoked at any time with effect for the future. Your data will be deleted when the processing is no longer necessary to fulfill the purpose, but at the latest with the revocation of your consent.