Live Updates and Synchronize Views

Overview - Live Updates

When making changes to materials, lights, objects, etc. via the main CAD software being used, these adjustments are instantly recognized and automatically translated into Enscape. This functionality can of course also be deactivated when required.

Live Updates are also available whilst VR mode is activated. This allows making adjustments to a project which, when implemented, allows the user who is wearing the VR headset to see the corresponding changes in real time.

Furthermore, Live Updates are always activated by default. To deactivate this feature, please follow the corresponding instructions for each software set out below.

Live Updates in Revit

Once Enscape has been started in Revit, you can enable / disable the live link between the two softwares by clicking the Resume Live Updates / Pause Live Updates button:

Pause Resume Live Updates button in Revit

Pause Resume Live Updates button in Revit

As long as Live Updates is enabled the ability to click and access the Active Document menu in the Revit ribbon where you can select a View is maintained. Having Live Updates disabled breaks that link.

Active Documents menu in Revit

Active Documents menu in Revit

You will still be able to create views within the Enscape UI, and these are saved to the Revit Active Document list even when the Live Updates is paused.

Active Documents menu in Revit

Active Documents menu in Revit

Each view saves the corresponding Revit attributes:

  • Location and camera perspective
  • Hide in View
  • Sun Settings
  • Phasing
  • Design options
  • Section boxes

This means you can create a whole presentation just by transitioning between the different Views listed.

Live Updates in SketchUp

Here you can see the Live Updates button and the menu option to enable / disable this. Notice the button has a light blue background applied to indicate it is enabled.

Live Updates button and menu option

Live Updates button and menu option

Live Updates in Rhino

Pause Live Updates by clicking the Live Updates button:

To enable Live Updates again, simply click the button once more.

Note how the status of Live Updates is shown only in Rhino’s Command line area.

Pause and Resume Live Updates

Pause and Resume Live Updates

Live Updates in ArchiCAD

The Live Update button in Archicad, in the Toolbar, a custom palette, or the Enscape menu option.

Notice when enabled, the button’s background is highlighted with a light blue color.

Pause Live Updates

Pause Live Updates

Live Updates in Vectorworks

Pause/Resume Live Updates by clicking the Live Updates button which will update according to the state.

Live Update button in Vectorworks

Live Update button in Vectorworks

Overview - Synchronization Views

Synchronize Views allows synchronizing the view between the CAD software and Enscape. Any perspective/movement changes which are executed in SketchUp, Rhino, Vectorworks, or Archicad will immediately be translated into Enscape.

This functionality also allows navigation via the main CAD software only, without having to make use of Enscape’s controls.

Synchronize Views is not available in Revit.

Synchronize Views in SketchUp

To synchronize the view of SketchUp with Enscape, simply click the following Synchronize Views button:

The Synchronize Views button and menu option in SketchUp

The Synchronize Views button and menu option in SketchUp

Notice that the button’s background is highlighted with blue when enabled.

To disable Synchronize Views, simply click the button once more.

When creating a view from within SketchUp, if the Synchronize Views is enabled, this will result in the vertical frustum of the CAD’s camera being used. A visual indicator as to which Field of View (CAD=vertical, Enscape=horizontal) is being used can be seen in the Enscape Visual Settings next to the Field of View option under the Main tab. This vertical or horizontal frustum is then saved along with the View and is always respected, even when Synchronize Views is disabled when the View is selected from the Manage Views list at a later date.

Synchronize Views in Rhino

To activate View Synchronization in Rhino, simply press the following button:
If you want to disable this feature again, just press the button once more and you can see the options state Rhino Command line.

Pause and Resume View Synchronization

Pause and Resume View Synchronization

When creating a view from within Rhino, if the Synchronize Views is enabled, this will result in the vertical frustum of the CAD’s camera being used. A visual indicator as to which Field of View (CAD=vertical, Enscape=horizontal) is being used can be seen in the Enscape Visual Settings next to the Field of View option under the Main tab. This vertical or horizontal frustum is then saved along with the View and is always respected, even when Synchronize Views is disabled when the View is selected from the Manage Views list at a later date.

Synchronize Views in ArchiCAD

Enable / Disable Synchronize Views in ArchiCAD with the following button:

Notice the button has a blue background when it is enabled.

Synchronize Views button and menu options

Synchronize Views button and menu options

View Synchronization in Vectorworks

You can activate / deactivate Synchronize Views in Vectorworks with the following button:

Synchronize Views button

Synchronize Views button


    Was this article helpful ?

    YesNo

    Please provide us short feedback: (required)

    If you require a response to your feedback, then you will need to leave your email address (optional)*:

    *In the framework of our postings on our website, we may ask you for your feedback on the respective posting. Here, only the input of your feedback is required. The provision of further data, such as your e-mail address, is optional. If you provide further data, such as your e-mail address, we will use this to ask you questions about the feedback, if necessary, and thus to improve our services even more specifically. The legal basis for data processing is your consent (Art. 6 s. 1 p. 1 lit. a GDPR). The granting of consent is voluntary and is given when providing the optional email address which can be revoked at any time with effect for the future. Your data will be deleted when the processing is no longer necessary to fulfill the purpose, but at the latest with the revocation of your consent.


    Collaboration Tool Featured Image