Manage Views

Overview

Use the View Management button View Management button  via the Enscape User Interface (UI) to manage your Views.

You can create, rename and link a View to a Visual Setting Preset in Enscape itself. Deleting Views must be done in the associated CAD you have installed Enscape for.

You can also mark a View as a Favorite View, which is designed to be used in both the Enscape Virtual Reality Presentation Mode and the Enscape Standalone Executable files.
Favorite Views will help you and your clients navigate quickly and easily to pre-selected viewpoints within your projects.

The implementation of this functionality in Enscape allows it to work in much the same way in Revit, Rhino, Archicad, Vectorworks, and Sketchup.

To create a Favorite View you need to have first of created a View. These Views can be either the actual 3D Views / Scenes / Named Views from the respective CAD, which can be created in the CAD itself using its own native view creation methods, or by setting up your View in the Enscape viewport and then by clicking on the Enscape Create View button which is found in the View Management panel.

Create View

When you want to create a View using the Enscape ‘Create View‘ function, you will need to have the Enscape viewport running, as the function is embedded in the UI within the Enscape viewport.

Click here for a full overview of how to Create and Select a View in Enscape.

Once you do have Enscape open, move in the Enscape viewport to the View you would like to create and then click on the Create View button.

The Create View button in the View Management panel

The Create View button in the View Management panel

NOTE
When creating a view from within SketchUp, if the Synchronize Views is enabled, this will result in the vertical frustum of the camera being used. This information can also be seen in the Enscape Visual Settings next to the Field of View option. This vertical or horizontal frustum is then saved along with the View and will be respected, even when Synchronize Views is disabled when selecting the View from the View Management list at a later date.

Once you have clicked the Create View button, you will be prompted to give that View a CAD View Name.  Click the Create button when done.

Name the View

Name the View

Rename / Mark as Favorite

Once you have named your view, you can mark it instantly as a Favorite View by clicking the star symbol (so it turns from an orange outline to a solid orange color), and then you can click Create for that View to be listed in the View Management list under the respective projects category.

The newly created View

The newly created View

Click the Edit button next to the View to return to the Edit section, where you can click the orange star to add / remove the View as a Favorite. You can also rename the View here, if desired. Once done, click the Save button, which will return you to the View Management area where all the project’s Views are listed.

Mark the View as a Favorite

Mark the View as a Favorite

All views that you mark as a favorite will become available in the VR Presentation Mode, as well as in the right side pop-out menu in the Enscape Standalone file.

Favorite Views listed in an Enscape Standalone Executable file

Favorite Views listed in an Enscape Standalone Executable file

Batch Render Views

To Batch Render a set of Views, whether marked as a Favorite or not, click the Batch Rendering button in the Enscape UI.

The Batch Rendering button

The Batch Rendering button

This will open the Batch Rendering list which shows all Views contained in a project. Select the Views you want to Batch Render by marking the checkbox next to each View name and click on the Render Selection button.

If you have a Default Folder specified in the Visual SettingsOutput tab, then Enscape will automatically begin the batch render process. If this is not specified, then when you click the Render Selection button, a dialog window will open asking you to select the location to save to.

If a View is connected to a Setting Preset, then the Setting Preset will override the global settings. This means you can potentially batch Rrender individual images out to specific locations.

If Automatic Naming is enabled in the Visual SettingsOutput tab, then each View will be appended with the name of that View. Again, if a View is linked to a Settings Preset, this may be applied individually.

The Batch Rendering list

The Batch Rendering list

Deleting Views

If you want to delete Views then this must be done from within the CAD.

In Revit, when you create a view, it not only gets listed in Enscape’s View Management list, but also in Revit’s Project Browser, where if you right click on the view you want to delete, a menu will appear giving you that delete option. The View will be automatically removed from Enscape’s View Management.

Revit’s Project Browser also lists the created views

Revit’s Project Browser also lists the created views

It’s the same for SketchUp, where the views are listed under the SketchUp Scenes panel. Click on the minus in a circle symbol to delete them.

Views listed in SketchUp's Scene menu

Views listed in SketchUp's Scene menu

In Rhino, you can delete views by opening the Named View panel, click on the View and then click the red X, as seen in the following screenshot.

Named Views window in Rhino

Named Views window in Rhino

In Archicad you can delete a View by opening the Archicad View Map panel, and then right clicking on the View you would like to delete, and select Delete from that menu.

You will receive a warning message informing you that this process is not reversible and to confirm deletion.

Delete a View in Archicad

Delete a View in Archicad

In Vectorworks, you delete a View via Vectorworks’ Save Views panel, right clicking on the View to get the menu options.

Delete a View in Vectorworks

Delete a View in Vectorworks


    Was this article helpful ?

    YesNo

    Please provide us short feedback: (required)

    If you require a response to your feedback, then you will need to leave your email address (optional)*:

    *In the framework of our postings on our website, we may ask you for your feedback on the respective posting. Here, only the input of your feedback is required. The provision of further data, such as your e-mail address, is optional. If you provide further data, such as your e-mail address, we will use this to ask you questions about the feedback, if necessary, and thus to improve our services even more specifically. The legal basis for data processing is your consent (Art. 6 s. 1 p. 1 lit. a GDPR). The granting of consent is voluntary and is given when providing the optional email address which can be revoked at any time with effect for the future. Your data will be deleted when the processing is no longer necessary to fulfill the purpose, but at the latest with the revocation of your consent.


    Enable Enscape in CAD